It is currently May 3rd, 2024, 1:11 pm

'91 Stratos 285 SKI - Need Help

View active topics

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: May 8th, 2013, 12:34 pm   

Hey everyone, I am new to boating... I bought an 18.5' 91 stratos 285 ski last summer with a 91 Johnson 150 fast strike (confirmed hi comp cylinder head castings). I got it in the lake near the end of last season, and everything seemed to check out OK, approximately 50MPH on GPS with a ski prop.

Attachment:
File comment: Boat
Stratos 285.jpeg
Stratos 285.jpeg [ 40 KiB | Viewed 3079 times ]

I put it away for the winter with a cover that turned out to be not so waterproof... After reading a bunch of threads about wet foam, I decided (regrettably) to put some test holes in under the rear bench seat.

The port side was relatively dry... you could squeeze a few drops out of the foam that was closer to the bottom, but not too bad looking. On the starbord side, there was a significant volume of water underneath the foam... I then lifted the bow and it filled the hole completely (pics below). I removed approximately 5 litres of water last night using a shop vac. All of the wood seems solid and strong. I found one potential leak in that area of the floor where someone sealed a smaller hole with a plastic cap.

Attachment:
File comment: Hole - Port Side
Hole - Port.jpeg
Hole - Port.jpeg [ 110.22 KiB | Viewed 3079 times ]

Attachment:
File comment: Hole - Starbord Side
Hole - Starbord.jpeg
Hole - Starbord.jpeg [ 167.91 KiB | Viewed 3079 times ]

I can't have this boat out of commission for a long period of time during the season as I have a water access only cottage, so my plan for this year is:
1. Fill the potential leak with epoxy
2. Install access panels over the two holes I drilled so that I can check periodically to see if it is still taking in water
3. Get a good waterproof cover